Road Maps Costa Rica

 Search Maps

Costa Rica Maps Home       List of Road Maps       Driving Directions   

Map of Cartago Province

San Jose (20 maps)    ::   Alajuela (15 maps)    ::   Cartago (8 maps)    ::   Guanacaste (11 maps)
Heredia (10 maps)    ::   Limon (6 maps)    ::   Puntarenas (11 maps)

 County Road Maps

Cartago Province

Cartago Province Map of Costa Rica
Road Map of Cartago Province Costa Rica
Reference Map of
Cartago Province Costa Rica

Cartago Province lies on the eastern side of Costa Rica's Central Valley: the Caribbean side of the Continental Divide, southeast of the capital city of San Jose. The countryside is dominated by the Reventazón River valley and the surrounding high mountains; Irazú and Turrialba Volcanoes to the north and the Cerro de la Muerte and Mount Chirripó to the south.

The first church built in Costa Rica was constructed during the 1560's in the Valley of Ujarrás near the Reventazón River. Some of the country's best whitewater rafting tours start on the highlands rivers of Cartago Province:  The Rio Pacuare, Tuis, Pejibaye, the Rio Macho and the Rio Grande de Orosi.

Driving out of the city of San Jose and through Cartago on the Interamerican Highway takes you along the route of the Cerro de la Muerte, through Costa Rica's tallest mountains. Touring this area by car gives vacationers the same opportunity to see some of Costa Rica's endemic birds, flora and fauna as a climb of Mount Chirripo.

With a well developed highway infrastructure extending from San Joseinto the far northern part of the country, Alajuela Province is a popular vacation destination. Lodging varies from large chain hotels to intimate luxury B&Bs.

Birding in this region is popular, as your chances of seeing a rare Resplendent Quetzal at any time of year are exceptionally good.Other tourism activities include waterfalls, canopy tours, volcanoes, birdwatching, and nature guides.
The center of information for everything about Cartago. Primarily in Spanish, but a few English articles.

Reference Map showing Cartago Province and the political boundaries of its 8 Counties

This inset is an example of the large scale of this set of road maps of Costa Rica.
These maps show marked highways, rural roads, towns, rivers, and vacation destinations in Cartago Province Costa Rica.
1. Cartago; 2. Paraiso; 3. La Union; 4. Jimenez; 5. Turrialba; 6. Alvarado; 7. Oreamuno; 8. El Guarco;